New technology for traffic lights in Boucherville, Quebec

A new management team at Electromega
1 November 2010
ITS World 2014
7 September 2014
Show all

Firefighters can now respond to calls more efficiently

Firefighters in Boucherville, Quebec will now be able to respond to calls more safely as a result of the city’s decision to turn to Electromega to revamp its traffic lights system, which allows for the lights to immediately turn green when a responding emergency vehicle approaches.

“This system increases the safety for everyone, while speeding up response times for our firefighters,” said Jean-Guy Ranger, head of the fire and security department for the Longueuil regional municipality.

The Opticom system features an infrared GPS signal that is sent by the fire truck directly to a detector located on the traffic light. The light immediately turns green when the emergency vehicle, with its lights flashing, approaches. Traffic is then stopped in the opposite direction and allows vehicles in front of the fire truck to clear the way quickly and easily.

The fire department has since asked neighbouring municipalities to include similar safety modifications to all future road intersection improvements. More than 20 municipalities in Quebec currently use this system.  Thierry Lamoureux, Vice-President of Operations, of Electromega, which is the soul provider of this service in Quebec, states: ‘’the system has existed for several years and is increasingly affordable’’, adding that Montreal and Longueuil use this system for its municipal bus fleets.

Longueuil’s fire department is currently the only department in that city that is using this system, while Boucherville and Brossard are also equipped with the Opticom system.

In 2013, Boucherville installed the system on de Montarville Blvd. at the intersections of de Mortagne Blvd. and d’Avaugour, de Normandie and Ampère streets.

In 2014, plans were under way to implement the same system on the traffic lights on de Touraine Rd., at the intersections of Montarville Blvd. and the entrances to the Carrefour de la Rive-Sud, located at the intersection of de Tremblay Rd. and Nobel St., and de la Mortagne at Highway 132.

The city spent more than $100,000 to install the system.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Nouvelle technologie aux feux de circulation à Boucherville

Nouveau Conseil de Direction chez Electromega
1 novembre 2010
ITS World 2014
7 septembre 2014
Montrer tout

Les pompiers pourront circuler plus efficacement

Les pompiers pourront circuler de façon plus sécuritaire sur les artères principales de Boucherville. La Ville s’est dotée d’un système qui permet qu’un feu de circulation passe au vert à l’approche d’un camion en urgence.

«Ce système améliore la sécurité de tout le monde en plus d’accélérer le temps de réponse des pompiers», mentionne Jean-Guy Ranger, chef de division au Service de sécurité incendie de l’agglomération de Longueuil.

Le système Opticom fonctionne par signal infrarouge ou GPS, qui est envoyé du camion de pompier vers un détecteur installé sur le feu de circulation. La technologie fait passer le feu du rouge au vert lorsqu’un camion de pompier avec les gyrophares allumés arrive tout près. La circulation est alors stoppée dans l’autre sens et permet aux véhicules devant le camion de pompier de circuler et de libérer la route plus facilement.

Le Service de sécurité incendie a demandé aux municipalités de son territoire d’inclure ce système dans leurs futurs travaux de réfection d’intersection. Une vingtaine de villes au Québec utilisent ce système. Selon Thierry Lamoureux, de la compagnie Électroméga, le seul distributeur de ce service au Québec, le système existe depuis plusieurs années et est de plus en plus abordable. Il est notamment utilisé à Montréal et Longueuil pour la flotte d’autobus.

Seuls les camions de pompiers bénéficient de cet outil pour l’instant dans l’agglomération de Longueuil.

Boucherville imite d’autres villes de l’agglomération de Longueuil qui ont suivi les recommandations du Service de sécurité incendie, dont Brossard et Longueuil.

En 2013, Boucherville a fait installer le système Opticom sur le boulevard de Montarville aux intersections du boulevard de Mortagne, des rues d’Avaugour, de Normandie et Ampère.

En 2014, les feux de circulation du chemin de Touraine, aux intersections du boulevard de Montarville et aux entrées du Carrefour de la Rive-Sud, ceux à l’intersection du chemin du Tremblay et la rue Nobel, du boulevard de Mortagne et de la rue Ampère ainsi que l’intersection de Montbrun et de la route 132 profiteront de cette technologie.

La Ville a dépensé plus de 100 000$ pour installer ce système.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *